WA What to do in case of interstate death where parent's will status unknown.

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

CarlillvsCarbolic

27 April 2023
Hi All,

I've a mother and father who both live in Western Australia. My father has remarried, and currently owns at least two properties with his second wife. We are rarely in contact and the relationship is strained, not least due to the nature of the woman he remarried to. Suffice to say she would do what she can to ensure that she maximises whatever he may leave behind for her family and minimise whatever I may be due. This was made all too clear in my last visit to them a few years ago.

I'm no legal expert, but given my limited life experience I have learnt that sometimes if you miss time critical events in certain circumstances, then you can pay a severe price further down the road that you could have avoided had you been clued up as to how to act in the moment that the event occurred. I've not been able to get a clear answer from his as to whether he's planning to leave me anything, and I don't even want to ask because I was more concerned about demonstrating an interest in re-bonding for the sake of the relationship whilst he's still mentally functioning. But let's be realistic, given his advanced age, and attitude to re-establishing meaningful contact, there's a good chance that in the next few years I'll get that awful call advising the news.