QLD New Zealand Debt - Affect Home Loan Chances in Australia?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Nathan

21 May 2014
Hi all,
I'm a New Zealand citizen who moved to Australia and have lived here for 5 years. I left a loan in New Zealand of $20,000 which I intended to continue paying. Unfortunately, I could not keep up the loan payments and the debt was sold to Credit Corp (debt collectors). I've been paying this with Credit Corp without fault now for 4 years and accumulated a total of $8500 paid.

Since I have been in Australia, I have been approved for phone plans, credit cards and car loans but now seeking a home loan I am concerned I may not make it across the line in this credit check. Does my credit report from New Zealand follow me to Australia? I know it appears it doesn't however I tried to do the right thing and talk to Credit Corp about my intention to seek a home loan and if there company comes up on a report from Australia? At first, I spoke to a lady who basically told me that the credit files are made in New Zealand and do not transfer in Australian files and would not show. I was called again today about a week after I spoke to Credit Corp about the files and my debt manager spoke to me, made very clear I was being recorded and asked all my details. Then proceeded to tell me that because Credit Corp is an Australian company I have an account with them and my New Zealand debt would be able to be viewed. She then proceeded to ask me to increase the amount I currently am giving each month. If I was getting through a loop hole before to get loans, is Credit Corp now able to change my files to ensure I won't be able to get a home loan approved?

Thank you.

Reactions: Jennifer J

John R

14 April 2014
Sydney
Hi Nate,
Australian home loan lenders (banks, etc.) generally rely on your credit report to better understand your credit history.