VIC Partner's Ex Refusing Mediation - What to Do?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

stepmum

17 December 2018
Hi,

I am new to this and was hoping for some help.

I have been with my partner for 18 months now and he has a 9 & 7-year-old with his Ex-Girlfriend. They have not been together for 4 years. I have a great relationship with both children as does my family.

Since separating the dictation by her was that he had to have them whenever she had to work and it was not negotiable. This meant that he has to start work late and finish early to drop off and pick up from school.

This involved him having them 50/50, however, until I came on the scene it was more 80/20 his way as she would call text saying she could not handle the kids. He would pick them up and would not hear from her until he dropped them off.

He did always give in to her demands as he was scared she would stop him seeing the kids. He did not have the money to go to a solicitor. I know there are other options but he had no idea.

Since I have come on the scene we both are constantly abused, harassed and threatened. He is constantly degraded in front of the children when dropping off to her. Access is to suit her needs and hers only. We have tried mediation with no response except abuse to us and denied access for fathers day etc. We have drawn up proposed consent orders and sent to her with a reply of the game on and more harassment and abuse/threats. We sent a second letter to see if she was willing to negotiate and the same thing abuse/threats.

We are now going to start court proceedings.

She denies us talking to the children unless she feels like it even on significant days like their Birthday.

I could go on and on as it is a daily occurrence.