SA Ex Went Interstate with Son - Breaching Mediation Agreement - What to Do?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

franklin9

17 November 2015
Hello, all.

I am new to this so will keep it short. I want to know if anyone has advice regarding my situation.

My partner's ex took his child (5-year-old) about 12 months ago interstate. While he did not give express permission she could leave, he also did not stop it as he was led to believe by her that he had no choice or say in the matter.

Since leaving, she has not allowed him to have his son visit with him and he has only been allowed to visit once for one week. Communication between them has broken down and mediation was no help whatsoever, the agreements between them made in their sessions has not been adhered to (on her part). For example, they agreed my partner could have his son stay for a week or two over easter and once mediation ceased she has gone back on her word.

She is constantly abusive and d would stalk both our social media and will not listen to reason. She will often not answer calls to let my partner speak with his son for days on end. Often we have no idea where his child actually is in regards to her family home, her partner's house or even in the state still.

Any attempt to build a better relationship with her or to gain better communication with the child and she resorts to abusive messages and threats and often will turn her phone off for a day or so. We have no other contact numbers for her if she blocks our numbers like she has threatened. Often the calls she allows between my partner and his son are rudely interrupted or cut short by her if she doesn't like the conversation topic (e.g my partner telling his son he would like to see him and asking if he is behaving at school, etc.).