NSW My child's father is not my husband.

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Pegh

19 October 2020
I am pregnant and the father of the child is not my husband. I do not want to abort. He is married to another woman and i do not wish to have him as my partner as well. It was a mistake. I am a permanent resident where as he is on international student visa. Will i get benefits from centrelink ? I am too afraid to ask centrelink because i feel it might hamper his student visa. Please let me know if i can get centrelink benefits without a husband.
Thank you.

sammy01

27 September 2015
have you told your husband that he is not the father?
Look this is messy. You could 'claim' it was a one night stand and you have no idea who the father is.

Atticus

6 February 2019
Will i get benefits from centrelink
If the father is named on the birth certificate, Centrelink will insist that you seek child support from him or accept a lower rate of payment...

No easy choices on this one... some tough decisions to make

sammy01

27 September 2015
Oh ok... Sorry - I read your first post to suggest you are married. Ok.

I'd encourage you to call the Child support Agency. Seek advice from a womans legal aid service.

Not sure if it will affect his visa. You can get centrelink regardless.
Look you have some ethical / moral decisons to make. So does the dad know you're pregnant?

I reckon you need to make the ethical / moral decisions based on your personal morals and let the legal consequences come what may....

I do think you need to check with centerlink. DONT STRESS. You can call them anonymously and ask for information to help guide your decisions.

Bazarus

1 October 2020
Is the racial heritage of the father similar to your boyfriend, i.e is your boyfriend Asian and the father Nigerian?
This will raise obvious questions, why won't you consider abortion?

Tim W

Lawyer