QLD How to Stop Ex from Stalling Through Expensive Lawyer Fees?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

running

13 March 2016
Hi,

My ex-husband has started to put repeated petty questions through the lawyers, as a way of revenge if he can't get his own way.

He has already managed to get his Child Support reduced to $0, and he lives in the family home (in his name), while the kids and I left due to his abuse. He is self-employed and makes good money. I am only a beginning teacher.

Most of my pay is going to lawyer fees, and it's getting eaten by petty questions (requests for minor changes, extra days even after I have refused). How do I stop these petty matters costing money and keep my fees paying for the actual stuff that needs to get sorted out (custody and property)?

AllForHer

23 July 2014
I hate to say it, but this is fairly common practice in this particular field of law. The Court won't restrict one party from contacting the representation of the other, so if one party wants to compel the other to settle by consent, the quickest way to get there is to drown them in legal fees so a trial becomes unaffordable. Best way to limit your costs is to self-represent.

14 September 2017
I am self representing. I have the same question though. How can I stop him from stalling? Being absent on court dates, late paperwork ( less than 2 days before court, or even on court day, so I don't have time to prove the lie of being unavailable.

AllForHer

23 July 2014