NSW Help with Setting Up Parenting Orders?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

my4daughters21

18 January 2020
I know every family has different circumstances but I'm interested to find out what people have in place for the parenting plan /orders

My situation is with 4-year-old twins. Their dad now lives 2.5 hours away (his choice), not paying child support at the moment and I'm not sure if I'm entitled to anything yet. I need to look into. I am a full-time student and so is he.

He wants half school holidays but I disagree because they go to childcare, not a primary school and I still have to pay for childcare if they do not attend. I am happy for them to do half school holidays when they are attending primary school.

Also, if I'm not entitled to child support, then I would like him to have to come to me to have to pick up the twins and the same when he returning them. He made the decision to leave the area and I just feel it's fair, as I will be taking on more responsibility most of the time, and I want him to have to pick them up as I do not get along with his mother and do not wish to engage with her at all. Apart from those couple of things, everything else I think we will agree on every second weekend every second Christmas/new year, every second birthday.

How do birthdays work once they start primary school or if its a childcare day?

How do you work mum and dad's birthdays or Mother's Day and Fathers Day. I'm guessing it would be written those days. Weekends would be if its mum's birthday that cancels out if it's their weekend and vice versa and same with Mother's and Father's Day?

Also, there is an interim AVO in place for me not the children due to emotional and mental abuse and he broke into my house and stole my laptop, which he later returned. Next court date should finalise if the AVO will stand or not as he is contesting the AVO.