NSW Ex has Tax Haven but will not Pay Child Support

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Sarah J

16 July 2014
Melbourne, Victoria
Hi Peta,

I'm sorry to hear this and completely understand your reasons for wanting out of the CSA. I am not an expert in family law, however, I believe you can:
  • Ask the CSA to terminate the arrangement. If they refuse, this can be a new decision you can appeal on
  • Appeal on this decision within 28 days to the SSAT (Social Security Appeals Tribunal)
  • Following this, you can appeal (on a question of law) to the Federal Magistrates' Court or Family Court within 28 days of the SSAT decision
  • Alternatively, you can terminate the CSA by:
    • Mutual consent (both parents agreeing) after seeking independent legal advice, or
    • Seeking court order to terminate the order:
"Terminating agreements
A binding child support agreement can only be terminated if both parents agree to do so after getting independent legal advice or by a court order (s 80D).

A limited child support agreement can be terminate if:
- both parties agree to do so;
- by either party after three years;or
- by court order" (Source here)

peta campbell

22 May 2015
Thank-you Sarah for this succinct response. If Im not successful with my objection I will ask the CSA to terminate the arrangement, and then no doubt end up in the tribunal. There I will take both a lawyer and an abuse counsellor who will know by training what my ex is doing and ensure he doesn't engage in abuse. I hope to find some humanity in that tribunal but Im not overly confident. I didn't know you can terminate an arrangement: any idea on what grounds?

Your avatar is confusing BTW :)

Sarah J

16 July 2014
Melbourne, Victoria
Hi Peta,

I'm not sure of the specific grounds. I suspect they would include:
  • Unfair on the parties in the circumstances