Stalking charges

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

evansarao

26 May 2021
Hi all
i have migrated to Aus from India 14 years ago. was married and now seprated for 2 years. this Feb my Ex and i was talking about getting back togather. but i April she started saying that she dont want to move back togathre. My son told me she is seeing another guy. i logged on to the security Camera system (outer periometer ) to find out the truth and after seeing her with another man i sent her few angry texts. she went to the police and made stalking charges against me. now i know what i did was illigal. i want to know what can go wrong for me how bad it is, this is my first time ever going to court. i dont have enough money to hire a soliciter. but i dont think that will help as i am at fault. plz advise

Atticus

6 February 2019
i logged on to the security Camera system (outer periometer ) to find out the truth and after seeing her with another man i sent her few angry texts.
Probably at the lower end as far as serious consequences go... You really would need to speak with a lawyer for specific advice though.... Laws vary from sate to state as well... Generally though, they would need to prove that you stalked with INTENT to cause harm, fear, apprehension or to harass..

You need a lawyer to properly present your case & minimise consequences

evansarao

26 May 2021
thanks Atticus
i have given everything to this woman. can not afford a lawyer to represent me. i am going to court in Victoria and srepresent myself and will plea guilty in hope to get a bond or fine.
thanks for the advise.

evansarao

26 May 2021
hi
is this criminal charge and will apear on police name check?
if yes do you know for how long?
thanks

Atticus

6 February 2019