VIC Equity for the head chef in a new restaurant

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

EddieMelbs

20 February 2023
Hi everyone,
I am an experienced chef and have been offered 10% equity on top of my salary in a restaurant that will open soon without any investment in return to take the position as a head chef.
I just want to know about my exposure in case of failure of the restaurant. What are the different options in terms of equity ? Am I going to be able to negotiate some conditions concerning the sell of the business if it would to happen ? Would I be able to include some conditions in fine prints in my employee contract ?
I am not too sure how this works and want to make sure I won't end up in trouble more than anything.
Thanks.

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
More likely to end up with nothing than in trouble.

There are many options available to you and beyond the scope of this forum to outline. I suggest getting advice before documents are finalised. Our firm can assist you, see my signature for details.

It is possible to negotiate terms of an employment contract and this is again something we can assist with.

oakdean5

30 January 2021