QLD Customer won't Pay Invoice - How to Enforce QCAT Ruling?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Axel86

27 August 2015
Hi, I am a sole trader (mobile auto technician). I have recently taken a customer to QCAT over an unpaid invoice of approx $1700. QCAT ruled in my favour that the customer pay the invoice. However no due date was on the ruling.

It has been nearly a month since the ruling and I have not received any money. I rang the courthouse today, asking how to enforce the ruling, and was told I can ask the customer to make a payment plan or apply to take him to court. Both of which I have already done, at least 2 months ago.

Is there a step I'm missing here?
-what is the benefit of paying fees (and time) for Qcat if they can't make him pay?
-how do I enforce this court ruling?

I knocked on his door and requested money today and was given the usual response of excuses and "sympathy stories" I couldn't keep his car as I am a mobile mechanic, and the customer now has his car, driving around happily with all of the upgrades I have fitted for him.

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
You made a mistake at QCAT. You should have asked for the payment due date at the same time as they set the amount.

It may be implied that the due date is as per your normal trading terms. Recommend go back to QCAT saying he has not paid as per their orders and normal trading terms. As he never requested a payment plan it may be assumed the amount is due in full. Ask QCAT for the correct way to reapply and seek enforcement of their orders. See if you can add costs as well.

praxidice

30 May 2014