Contest an Intervention Order vs Family Court

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

IoM

6 October 2018
Straight off the bat, I'm not a lawyer, so anything I say is simply my own thoughts and are not based on any experiences, as my situation is ongoing, so I'm yet to see how effective this strategy will be, but this is my intended course of action. I'm not a wordsmith either, so I appoligise in advance if it comes across a little clumsy.

I have come to realise that the truth and evidence alone does not necessarily achieve the desired outcome, far from it in fact, which leaves us with strategy, amongst other things. I’ve discussed this with my own counsel, with mixed opinions, but the driving force governing their opinion is cost. I am the respondent, so I have to pay, but watch this space, more on that another time. Their argument is a sound one, declaring that even if I claim a partial victory in defeating some aspects of the IO, I'll be facing the same accusations in the Family Court, so why pay twice? What an excellent question.

I have seen many here give that same, exact, advice. It’s not bad advice, but if you find yourself in a similar situation as myself, where my ex-partner repeatedly lied during her testimony and subsequently on her Affidavit, going straight to the Family Court might not be in your best interest, cost aside.