VIC Can decision makers create their own version of events to stick the decision?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Jack_G

4 May 2020
I had some crazy experiences with the VCAT and FWC.
Case is against the large company.

In the reasons for the decision Member:
  1. Provides false statements. (Contradicting the evidence)
  2. Omits relevant facts.
  3. Argues the case for the respondent (makes arguments not mentioned by the respondent during the hearing)
  4. Brings up case law not mentioned by the respondent.
  5. Says that the witness is credible, even when the witness has trouble giving answers.
  6. Misinterprets the timeline of events
  7. States that the Applicant had little evidence, when in fact there was a lot.
I'm new to all this. Is it normal?
I feel I'm going mad.

Last edited:

Rob Legat - SBPL

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
16 February 2017
Gold Coast, Queensland
lawtap.com
Here's a 'standard' lawyer's take on what you've said, without having the benefit of knowing anything about the case or the proceedings:

1. This could be anything.
2. 'Relevance' is a matter of opinion. The decision maker gets to determine the relevance. If they've been incorrect - that's what appeals/reviews are for.
3. The decision maker is allowed to come up with their own reasoning if they think it is relevant, or the parties have not sufficiently explored the concept. Pretty standard.
4. This is standard.
5. Having trouble answering questions does not mean they're not credible. There are many more factors at play here.
6. Unfortunately this can happen, especially when there are conflicting versions from either side. Don't forget they're looking at it without the benefit of having lived through it. If it's material in that it affects the outcome of the decision (and it usually often isn't) - look at your your appeal avenues.