QLD Application Form in College - An Acceptance Letter?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Samroy

28 August 2015
Hi, I would like to ask whether an application form submitted in college for a course can be treated as offer and acceptance letter.

Thanks In Advance.

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
Not a lot of facts here.
Can you tell us a bit more?

Reactions: Samroy

Samroy

28 August 2015
Hi Tim,
I explain you my case and hope you give me a genuine help.

I am a student who applied for the course in one of the colleges, I filled and signed the application form attach all the document required and send it back to the college . The college issued me a conditional offer letter which I have to sign and send them back. They also ask me to pay my first course instalment and application fee. I paid my first instalment and application fee , then they send me the COE and asked me to sign it and send it back.

My course started in Sept 14 , I attended few of my classes and then I have to go back to my country as my parents were very sick . I went back to my country and helped my family to recover. I came back in Jan 15, and applied for my COE cancellation as I was financially broke and mentally under stress due to my family health . I didn't received any convincing reply from the college about my course cancellation and every now and then they send me late payment fee warning emails which I replied by saying that I have already applied for my COE Cancellation in Jan 15 .

In July I received an email stating about my COE cancellation and asking me to pay my outstanding amount. After few days they have given my case to one of the debt collection agencies and they are sending me these Demand notices for payment of outstanding fee.