VIC Why weren't I charged after I made a threat to kill?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Roy Peters

27 April 2018
Hello I am a student with mental illness and I was reckless with threatening to kill at my university on Facebook. I deleted the Facebook post in which I made the threat within 1 minute of posting it.

The students took a screenshot and propagated the threat between friends. Ultimately, people to which I made the threat learnt it.

Prior to making the threats I was on antipsychotics and due to side effects of the medications I stopped cold turkey. This lead to me feeling exasperated even for the smallest things. I found myself swearing at strangers and I told my psychiatrists. This is before I made the threat.

As of now I am on a completely new antipsychotic which is adminitered by injection monthly so as to prevent me stopping again. I have come back to my senses and I feel extremely guilty

I saw on the internet that threats to kill is punishable for up to 10 years in prison and I feel extremely guilty and I cannot get over it. Can someone shed light on why I am not in prison?

Last edited:

Roy Peters

27 April 2018
Edit: I did not make the threat for no reason whatsoever. I was in a facebook study conversational group. I helped the students on some assignments. A day later I randomly posted "I was at work" and they told me I am rambling nonsense and that I am stupid. They kicked me out of the group and I got angry. I was also at work when they did that to me. I was stressed

Clancy

6 April 2016
I do not think the average person would realize a threat to kill is a crime or think to report a threat to kill to police *unless* they actually felt threatened.

Cobra1972

3 June 2018
Your intent would be taken into account and it may be that your threat did not meet all the elements of that offence.