NSW Payment for Two Weeks Notice Period - Where Do I Stand?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Michael Scott

8 September 2015
I am an IT contractor engaged with a new client via an agency. The contract period is through to 31 October 2015.

Last Friday - September 4 and six weeks into that contract - I terminated the agreement/contract providing two week's notice that was in keeping with clause 11.1 ...

"11. TERMINATION

11.1 <Agency> or the Contractor may terminate the Agreement prior to the expiry of the Contract Term by proving two (2) week's written notice.

11.2 Not withstanding clause 11.1 <Agency> may terminate this Agreement during the Contract Term on written notice to the Contractor if at any time:

(c) the Client terminates it's contract with <Agency> or directs <Agency> to withdraw the Contractor."

The Agency accepted my written termination including the two weeks notice period on September 4 and that was followed by verbal acceptance by the Client who accepted my two weeks notice but requested that I finish up at the end of that day.

The Agency verbally confirmed my entitlement to two weeks of additional pay in lieu of my written notice.

Today - on September 8 - the Agency informed me that I would not be paid for the two weeks as the Client - after both the Agency and the Client had accepted my notice - terminated the agreement as per clause 11.2 (c) ... clearly after the acceptance of my notice of termination.

Where do I stand in regards to being paid for the two week notice period under Employment Law?

S

Sophea

Hi Michael,

I assume that the agency is not required to give 2 weeks notice if terminating under clause 11.2(c) and they are using that as a way to get out of paying you your 2 weeks notice is that correct?