SA mediation before or after separation?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Bi Young

14 November 2022
I am considering divorce. I have been sharing my bank account with my wife for the last 3 years. Recently, I stopped sharing the bank account, but she still can use my credit card for living expenses. Then, she asks for me to leave the house (that we jointly own). Otherwise, she threatens that she will leave by herself. Then, I need to raise my kids by myself. She said she would mediate after separation.

1. Would it be ok to mediate after separation in this situation?
2. As we will separate and ultimately divorce, should I now stop the credit card (that my wife uses) until the separation agreement is settled?

It will be really appreciated if I can get some legal advice. Also, should I prepare any other things before this (hard) separation process?

Atticus

6 February 2019
she asks for me to leave the house (that we jointly own). Otherwise, she threatens that she will leave by herself.
Another option that works for some separating couples is to continue to live under the same roof while separated... This means you have discussed separation & agree that you are separated even though you continue to live under the same roof ... Separate bedrooms, no longer interact as a family together, separate finances as much as possible etc.

Whilst separated under one roof, you can attend mediation to agree on how you will divide property and share the care of children when you do finally separate into different housing. Doing this will save the cost of renting until a settlement is agreed upon.
As we will separate and ultimately divorce, should I now stop the credit card (that my wife uses) until the separation agreement is settled?