QLD Malfeasance in Office - Government Officials?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Sabre8709

24 October 2014
I'd appreciate if a legal practitioner could go into detail about Malfeasance in office - I'm currently studying the subject at the moment and there seems to be very little recorded cases of it.
I'm wanting details of how to successfully argue malfeasance in office in court, and what would be possible defences against it also. I know most legal professionals argue against the context of malfeasance in office and this leads to confusion of how to determine it in court.
Really just wanting an in depth discussion and details on malfeasance in office, and what is the best way to argue the context of malfeasance in court against public (government) officials.
Thanks in advance

CathL

19 April 2014
Australia
Hi @Sabre8709
I can appreciate how confusing this area of law is - it doesn’t seem to be common tort claim. I presume you can’t give much further context to your issue and situation?

The Queensland Department of the Premier and Cabinet “Misfeasance in public office” page has some helpful information, including the elements that you'd need to prove to establish the tort of misfeasance in public office:

That an act was:

1. invalid or unauthorised,
  2. done maliciously,
  3. done by a public officer,
  4. done in the purported discharge of his or her public duty, and
  5. caused loss to the plaintiff.
The following actions by a public officer may constitute misfeasance in public office:
  • action taken in excess of power with an intention to cause harm
  • action taken in knowledge that there is no statutory authority and the damage is foreseeable; or
  • action done with reckless indifference.
An act conducted in good faith and without knowledge of the invalidity of the act is not likely to constitute misfeasance in public office.