NSW Sole Trader Pitched at Client - Legal Claims?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

MachineHead

21 August 2017
Hello all,

I am a sole trader, often doing freelance work for businesses in the creative field.

Recently one such business, whom I have freelanced for in the past, has sent me a ‘Notice of Intent’ (from their work email address) on ground of the following event:

- The operator of business invited me to a meeting with a potential client (P.C.) (i.e. someone who was looking for the kind of services this business offers and was investigating the options).

- I attended said meeting, voluntarily and unpaid, along with the P.C. and the business operator. It was here I learnt of the P.C.’s desire for the services and their budget.

- Shortly thereafter, I formulated a pitch which fit within the budget and arranged another meeting. This time, between P.C. and myself alone. P.C. liked the pitch and has since decided to contract my business for the project.

- After pitching I have called the business owner and explained what I did, so he was aware.

The notice of intent, arriving the weekend after said call, outlines these events and then includes:

“MachineHead used private information attained from the closed-door meeting to quote for the job as a third party, which was not represented at the meeting.

Business therefore Reserve's the Right to claim any damages should 1. the reputation or good-will of Business suffer in any way from the events that transpired or 2. any company that MachineHead represents generates any revenue due to privileged information received at the closed door meeting with P.C.”

Business owner claims that ‘after seeking legal advice I've found [MachineHead’s actions are] also illegal’.

There is no existing contract between Business and myself.