QLD Family Law - Grandparents Rights to Raise Grandchildren - Where Do I Stand?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
15 April 2016
Hi there,

I have been caring for my 4 grandchildren since the 19th March 2016 as their mother was evicted from her current address and has nowhere to house the children. She asked me to look after them. She has been in a relationship with their father who is on drugs.

I fear for the future of my grandchildren as she chooses him over the best interests of the children. The children were not and I feel in the future will not receive the proper care needed to return them to their mother if and when she finds housing.

Where do I stand and what can I do under Family Law?

sammy01

27 September 2015
At present there isn't much you can / should do except take the kids to see a doctor and have your concerns reported. When the mum asks to pick them up to move them into the new home, you can refuse, but there is nothing stopping her from taking them...

For the minute - just wait. Once you've had them in your care for 5-6 months then you have some history behind you and from there you could look at seeking court orders to remain their primary carer.

Can I ask... is that what you want? BTW how old are the kids?

Have they expressed an opinion?

Hope this helps

26 March 2016
Hi there,

I have been caring for my 4 grandchildren since the 19th March 2016 as their mother was evicted from her current address and has nowhere to house the children. She asked me to look after them. She has been in a relationship with their father who is on drugs.

I fear for the future of my grandchildren as she chooses him over the best interests of the children. The children were not and I feel in the future will not receive the proper care needed to return them to their mother if and when she finds housing.