NSW Child custody and abuse allegations

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Confused but determined

7 March 2018
Hi all

This is my first time post so apologies for the initial length. I’m interested in thoughts on my situation.

My wife and I have been married for 11yrs and we have 3 children (9,7,5yrs old). We have been living overseas for past 15mths - I am on a 3 year work posting. We recently returned to Australia (NSW) for a holiday and while here my wife had a nervouse breakdown and was diagnosed with a mental illness (depression). The main factor was her father being recently diagnosed with cancer. My wife had also developed a paranoia about our childrens behaviour - kids touching each other on privates. We discussed this openly with our immediate famliy and close friends. This will be relevant later. My wife stayed at her parents home and started an initial 6 week course of treatment. We agreed that our children would remain in Australia with my wife and their grandparents for the initial 6 weeks while I returned to our home overseas to make arrangements for my wife and childrens return - identifiy mental health professional for ongoing treatment, employ a domestic helper.

We also contacted our children’s school (a prestigious school in the country we live in) and informed them of the situation and the school have been providing temporary learning support to our children while in Australia. Basically this was the teachers providing guidance on what the classes were doing and what activities our children should do to maintain ‘currency’ to help when they return.