Car Sale - did I do anything wrong?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

joebriggs86

22 February 2022
Hi all,

Just a question, i recently sold my car to one of those car buying companies which had decent reviews. An inspector was sent out to do what was a 30min inspection of the car notably:
- a Visual check of the car (under cover and out in the open sun)
- A mechanical check (he was a mechanic by trade so not entirely sure what he did, didnt bother to test drive either)
- No questions were asked to me about any existing repairs to the car (note the car has never been in a major accident and has clear report)
- Price was agreed and both parties signed the contract.

There is a clause in there about "any negligent or wilful act or omission of the seller" - all other clauses that relate to my question refers to the car being in excess of the 'original condition of the car at the time of inspection'.

My question is, the car has had minor repairs done to the body of the car, this includes a bumper was changed (to the best of my knowledge) as it was an insurance claim and went to a prestigious repair workshop, so im not exactly sure what was changed and what wasnt, im just assuming the bumper as that was the obvious location of the damage.
Additionally, a scratch on the roof which resulted in a very high quality respray of the roof.

These two points were not discussed, asked raised, my opinion on the matter is minor works is minor works, if its been repaired properly then its up to the inspector to spot and ask, i literally stayed inside the whole team the inspection went on.

Assuming the car is in the SAME condition (inspector took photos), and realises later through someone more skilled that it did have minor repairs done, is there a right for any recourse here? My thoughts are this: