WA Australian Consumer Law - Sole Trader Dispute with Strata Council?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Dwjh

13 April 2016
Hi there.

I am a sole trader plasterer currently in dispute with a Strata Council with liaison being provided by their management company. Very aggressive and dismissive in conduct.

The problems arose after I was asked to provide an aesthetically pleasing finish to an existing tiled facade and window details to an office block in the city.

I quoted back in Jan this year and included the statement:
" Please Note, due to the composition of Acrylic Renders they are not normally recommended for use on areas likely to pool water, however, areas such as window ledges and sills should have sufficient gradients to prevent this from occurring. "

In other words, informing the client of the materials limitations. In addition, I provided a detailed Schedule of Works in the quote, at no time indicating I was waterproofing the product or indeed building in general. I also completed a test panel to check adhesion which showed no signs of adverse reaction despite rains in the next two months before works commenced. I also provided details of the manufacturer and their email, website, phone no. etc should they require more info.

I further requested some info on the buildings construction and access and was at no time informed of any hesitancy regards water pooling or any issues there may have been with water retention on the facades etc. I was instructed to go ahead in March and upon completion received excellent feedback and thanks from the client for a job well done.