NSW Young Person Fined by Police - Represent Myself in Court?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Kaan Varol

12 October 2016
Hey everybody,

I'm a 17-year-old student (16 when the crime was committed) and currently started year 12. I was hit with a fine early July for travelling without a ticket ($50) and smoking on the train platform ($300). I was travelling from Newcastle to Sydney to work and I was going to miss my train. I intended to pay at my final stop, otherwise, I would be 1 hour late.

As I was waiting for a transfer train, I stupidly light up a cigarette and a few police officers confronted me. I tried to be respectful as possible to the officer, because this was my first time having run-ins with the law, but the officer gave me a $350 fine.

As a student working minimal hours, I cannot afford this fine and have sent in numerous reviews but were rejected. I stated in them that I was not given a warning/caution under the Young Offenders Act. My only options are now paying the $350 or going to court and representing myself.

My question is, would it be advised to represent myself in court? (I'm familiar with the court structure) And what outcome would I generally expect? Plus if you have any suggestions and comments.

Thank you for your time, and I do understand I did 'break the law' but I think it's unjust that I have to pay the same as an adult that has a full/part time job.

S

Sophea

You have no grounds to argue that you didn't commit the offences, so I think what you are after is a request for leniency. You can request a review of your penalty notice if you wish to seek leniency because there were special circumstances which contributed to the offence.