NSW Will Contractor Agreement Still be Valid?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

aaronpch

9 March 2017
Hi,

I am currently a physiotherapist contractor working for my boss. In the employment contract, there is a clause stating I am prohibited to work within 5km radius of the clinic for 12 months after the termination of the agreement. However, I have mentioned to my boss that I would like to change from a contractor agreement to a rental agreement in the future.

Just wondering would that clause still have legal power after I changed from contractor arrangement to rental arrangement? When can I start working within that 5km radius? Is it right after I start my rental agreement? Or 12 months after the start of my rental agreement (i.e. 12 months after the end of the contractor agreement)?

Lance

31 October 2015
Hi Aaron,

To the letter of the contract, it would be 12months after you finish your employment as a contractor. But if your boss is a party to the new contract they can waive the original contact clause.

I would get something in writing from your boss to state that the clause is revoked, you both agree and sign it. That way, if things go sour your should be covered. The clause is obviously in place to protect the clinic from having its clients poached, so if you are still working there it shouldn't be a problem.

Rob Legat - SBPL

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
16 February 2017
Gold Coast, Queensland
lawtap.com
'Restriction of trade' clauses (such as this) are notoriously hard to enforce. While the employer has an interest in not having a competitor open up on its doorstep who has the benefit of their knowledge, the employee has an interest in being able to obtain a job and earn a living.