NSW Employee or Subcontractor?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Mark90

28 May 2015
Hi,

I'm a chiropractor and technically I'm a sub contractor and I've just started a new job. The guy running the clinic is asking me to sign a contract which has some things that make me question whether I actually am a sub contractor or an employee.

My biggest concern is one of the clauses in the contract states that I'm not allowed to work within 10 km of the clinic location during the time I am there and 12 months after I leave. Is he allowed to restrict where I work under employment law, if I actually am a sub contractor?

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
You may be involved in a thing called "sham contracting".
It's a device used by unscrupulous employers to evade their responsibilities for PAYG tax, super, WHS, leave entitlements etc.
It's not lawful for either of you to be in a sham contracting arrangement.

By way of background, this may be helpful.
So might this.
And if you scroll down to the bit about sham contracts, this is pretty good too.

S

Sophea

Hi Mark90,

Yes a sub-contractor agreement can indeed contain a restraint of trade clause, and if you agree to it, your boss can legally restrict where you work. These are quite common in both employment and sub-contractor agreements and are the basis of many claims. So make sure you are prepared to comply with the restrictions if you agree to them.

Mark90

28 May 2015
You may be involved in a thing called "sham contracting".
It's a device used by unscrupulous employers to evade their responsibilities for PAYG tax, super, WHS, leave entitlements etc.
It's not lawful for either of you to be in a sham contracting arrangement.

By way of background, this may be helpful.
So might this.
And if you scroll down to the bit about sham contracts, this is pretty good too.