NSW Unfair Dismissal - What are My Employee Rights?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Catriona

10 June 2015
Is there such a thing as 3 written warnings before termination? I work as an AIN in aged care.
I have a disciplinary meeting scheduled for tomorrow, claiming serious misconduct with a resident who is known to have behaviour problems and make unnecessary comments and allegations toward staff. My manager is also claiming defamation to the company's reputation and not treating the resident with dignity, care and privacy.

I also have a problem with "Charter of Residents Rights and Responsibilities". It clearly states that residents should respect the staff, the care needs of others and the fact they are in a communal environment. I have pointed this out to my manager on numerous occasions. Apart from company policy and procedures, I feel this charter should bear some weight, as it comes from the Aged Care Dept.

This particular resident yells at staff and is always complaining or disgruntled if she doesn't get what she wants when she wants. It seems like workplace bullying. Our manager has told us that a resident can yell, scream, and abuse us and we have to just take it. I feel that my manager is not concerned with her staff and their feelings or the "charter". The manager doesn't want to make "waves" with this resident, but is happy to hear her allegations and try to terminate my employment (I have been working there for 10 years and have great relationships with other residents and their families). This resident gets better care because she is cognitively alert. She is showered daily and other residents miss out because of time spent looking after her. Our company insists on person centered care and the home belongs to the resident. It seems only when they are cognitively alert!