NSW Regarding resident parking permits for trailers

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Maxum Maximus

27 October 2018
I'm a resident of Ryde Council in Sydney and wish to park my boat trailer on the street where I live.

It seemed like a reasonable request: there's never any parking congestion - enough parking for everyone! And yes, me the car, the boat the trailer are rightfully registered and licenses and registered at the address!

Ryde Council has responded;
Council has decided not to issue permits to boat trailer according to RMS Permit Parking Guidelines. Council has clarified this matter with RMS. According to RMS ‘Amendment to the Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) Residential Parking Permit Guidelines give Councils discretion to issue parking permits to boat trailers as part of a local approach to manage parking. Accordingly City of Ryde Council can choose to issue a permit to boat trailer, or not, within its discretion’.

Yeah.. but:
- Additional legislation/policy addresses an actual problem: No
- Evidence based legislation: No.
- Public consultation and consideration: No
- Public awareness and education campaigns precede enforcement and punishment: No

Since the formation of modern Australia Sydney Harbour has been a maritime city. Indeed, one of the most beautiful and well known Harbour Cities of the world. My family has been sailing and boating on Sydney Harbour for 4 generations.

What are my options to reverse these mindless, arbitrary and poorly thought through local government policies?

Rob Legat - SBPL

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
16 February 2017
Gold Coast, Queensland
lawtap.com
Sounds like it’s a general stance they’ve taken, not an individual one. I think you’d need overwhelming public support to get them to possibly chance their mind.