QLD Is Age a Big Factor on My TPD Insurance Claim?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Huzey

15 October 2015
Hi. I have submitted a TPD insurance claim through my superannuation. I have been diagnosed with PTSD after workplace bullying and harassment by a school principal (I'm a teacher). I have also been on Income Protection on and off for 5 years now as I keep relapsing when I return to work.

My psychiatrist said that I will never return to work and the Independent Medical Examiner also agreed. The Super Fund has all of my medical history from the previous relapses plus my psychiatrist and the independent psychiatrist's report. My superannuation said that there may be an issue with my claim due to my age being 33 therefore I'm young to not work ever again. Yet in the legislation, age isn't mentioned plus both psychiatrists report I will not be able to return to work.

The claim hasn't been denied but this has now worried me. I am supposed to hear back in a couple of days on whether it has been declined or approved.

Is my age a big factor????

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Wait a few days, then post again. No point worrying about things now, what is done is done.

Focus on trying to get your life back together as much as possible. 33 is young and with patience and treatment who knows what can happen. A payout should be the least of your concerns.

JS79

2 October 2015
Perth
Your age should not be a big factor. If you have had an independent medical adviser tell the superannuation company that you are unable to work again due to the post traumatic stress - you should receive your claim.