Homework Question - Law on Dress Codes for Small Businesses?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Hannah20

5 April 2017
Hey friends,

I'm new here, so I hope this is the right place to ask this sort of thing.

I am studying Business Law as part of a marketing degree and I am really struggling with finding laws that I can site as part of a legal argument. The law has to be a law and not something out of a textbook... which is, well its stressing me out.

I have looked under dress code, code of conduct, clothing...I just can't find anything! I was wondering if I am going about it the wrong way or if I am just not looking for the right thing... Can any of you help me?

The question is:

Kate keeps turning up to work dressed in black (Goth clothing), with an increasing number of tattoos and piercings. You do not feel this is appropriate for the salons’ image and want her to stop wearing Goth clothing and remove some of the earrings on her face.

Can you tell Kate what to wear to work? What if she refuses?

I can write up all the legal stuff, format it and everything and there are another couple of questions I have been able to find laws for.....But I just can't find any employment law or rule/relevant Law stuff for this.

Can anyone help?

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Have you looked at awards? Anything in the award?

What about company policies? What is the legality of company policies and employment contracts?

And I'd mention something about discriminatory laws? Not likely to be any discrimination, but should discussed.

Hannah20

5 April 2017
Hey, thanks for you reply,