VIC Criminal Law and Family Law - Other Related Career Options?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Sapphire

11 February 2015
Victoria, Australia
I am a third year student studying Law/Arts (major: crime & legal studies). I love studying law, but I don't know if I want to be a lawyer anymore. I first visited a court at 16 and I believed then that I wanted to be a solicitor. The 'idea' of being a lawyer intrigued me, I suppose. However, my ignorance meant I knew nothing about what being a lawyer (or studying law) actually entails.

It's hard for me to deal with this because I feel I have some emotional attachment to law. I've learnt so much about it over the years and it have been interested in it as a potential career for so long. Yet, as the years have passed by, I've realised I'm far more passionate about my Arts subjects that relate to criminology. This makes sense to me, as the only law subjects I'm interested in (and love) are criminal law and family law. If I could study these two areas alone I would be so happy!

You see, next year we are 'supposed' to be applying for clerkships with various law firms. I am so terrified. The process for applying (not to mention interviews) sounds absolutely daunting. I don't even know if I want to do that. I'm trying to convince myself that I would make a good lawyer, but deep down I think I know it's not suited to me.