QLD Court Questions, Section 60 expiry

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

RachaelMC

2 November 2017
Hi again everyone,

It looks like my matter will be going to court because ex isn't declaring and is dragging the matter to waste my money on legal fees. He is representing himself and is living in the family home while i pay the mortgage. It is in his interest to delay the matter.

I have few questions in regards to how the court works. I am sorry if my questions seem stupid but i have no experience in such matters.

1. I got a Section 60 which is 6 months old now. What happens if it expires while we are in the process of attending court? Do we have to re attend mediation even though we are in the middle of a court case? Is 6 months enough to sort the matter out? I hear it takes years in some cases!

Ex is delaying it now and is asking to be the main carer for our child, he figured out that if he have her he will get a better chance in keeping the family home. She lives with me 80% of the times and this is what was agreed on when we attended mediation. I work part time to be there for her, he is in full time work.

2. He replied to my lawyer himself again. Most of the things he said in regards to non financial contribution are not true. He is claiming the he looked after the kids, was the main income earner while I wasted my life and didn't help at all! In fact it is the other way around!

What happens here? Is it my word against his? Do i need to prove what I am saying or do i need to prove that what he is saying is wrong?

3. How does it work in the court? Do we go up on the stand or do the judge gets the information from our affidavit? I know he will by lying on his! Do they call witnesses? Can they call our grown up child to the witness stand? She is 22. Can i ask people that know us to write statements?

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator: