VIC breath vs blood alcohol test

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Bea

11 October 2019
Hi everyone

Last week, I crashed my car into a parked car.
I am incredibly ashamed and remorseful of the whole thing and am just so glad I didn't seriously hurt someone or worse.

I've been driving since 2012 and have just 3 points in all those years from speeding. This was an embarrassing yet genuinely isolated incident.

About 45 mins after the crash I read 0.110 with the breath test. I was taken to hospital an they did a blood test there. I can't remember the exact time frame, but this would've been between 1.5h-2h after the first breath test.

I'm worried though that this one will read higher than the breath test. I had been at a dinner party which started at around 5pm and I left just after 11. I hadn't been slamming back shots or anything but I was definitely sipping on my glass of wine up until leaving. So I'm fairly sure the alcohol wouldn't have fully been in my system by the breath test. But it would've been my the blood test.

When it comes to court- my understanding is they'll use my blood test results. But I can't work out how this is fair since at the time of the crash I was lower.Can anyone explain this to me? thank you

Rob Legat - SBPL

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
16 February 2017
Gold Coast, Queensland
lawtap.com
Because breath testing can be inaccurate for a range of reasons. It's what's used initially because it is easier to administer and less invasive than taking blood.

With breath testing:
- Just had a drink? It will be through the roof.
- Some medications, medical conditions and mouthwashes will make it higher.
- There are also a range of things which can make it appear lower. These are not readily publicised for obvious reasons.