QLD Workplace bullying in qld

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Amiee hart

22 January 2018
i was recently a victim of workplace bullying, however my employer didn’t think this was the case and refused to do anything about it. I am now on medication as the incident has caused me to develop anxiety and depression. And also, I work as a career and reported something confidential to my boss who revealed to the person in question that I personally made a complaint which surely can not be legal. Is there anything I can do legally to make my former workplace take account and pay me for the days I missed due to anxiety?

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
You can report bullying to the Fair Work Commission if the boss is not doing anything constructive.

Revealing confidential information is a separate matter and would need to be pursued through the courts - May not be worth it. Suggest getting a doctor's certificate so you are covered for Occ Health and Safety (WorkCover or whatever it is called in QLD).

Amiee hart

22 January 2018
You can report bullying to the Fair Work Commission if the boss is not doing anything constructive.

Revealing confidential information is a separate matter and would need to be pursued through the courts - May not be worth it. Suggest getting a doctor's certificate so you are covered for Occ Health and Safety (WorkCover or whatever it is called in QLD).

I got a medical certificate but Work Cover won’t do anything

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Workcover probably won't do anything because your 'injury' has not reached the required threshold - and you don't want it to. It is better to be healthy than rely on Workcover.

But it is important to have the 'injury' traced back to work just in case the injury does get worse.