VIC Voice Recording - Recorded conversation without their consent acceptable?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Ruibin

22 November 2019
Hello Everyone,

I am an International student. I am involved in a case and I don't understand the relevant legal system in Australia.Therefore, I am here to ask for some help.

1. I would like to consult, in Victoria, if I was secretly recording without consent in a meeting with two other people, did I violate the relevant provisions of the Surveillance Devices Act 1999?
2. This meeting is a meeting of the service provider to explain the contract to me. Is it "private conversation"?
3. About 'Subject to sub-section (2), a person must not knowingly install, use or maintain a listening device to overhear, record, monitor or listen to a private conversation to which the person is not a party, without the express or implied consent of each party to the conversation. ' What is this consent of 'each' party mean? Is it mean I have to get consent of the two other people?

Thank you for your help.

Kind regrad,
R

Scruff

25 July 2018
NSW
If you were not a party to the meeting then you have broken the law.

If you were a party to the meeting, then you are focusing on the wrong part of the text.

"Subject to sub-section (2), a person must not knowingly install, use or maintain a listening device to overhear, record, monitor or listen to a private conversation to which the person is not a party, without the express or implied consent of each party to the conversation."

If you were a party to the conversation, then section 6 of the Surveillance Devices Act does not apply and you can record the conversation without anyone else's consent.

Reactions: Ruibin

F1blakes1

21 February 2017