VIC Unfair Dismissal and Discrimination - Urgent Situation

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

dagaz1227

26 March 2015
I am a consultant on a 457 visa in Melbourne, and was permanent employee of a consultancy for over a year and a half. In November/December 2014 I took 4.5 days of sick leave over a 3 week period. The primary reason for my illness was that my immune system had been compromised by treatment for a tumor. I told my line manager of the tumor following my first day of sick leave and requested support. However, my client at the time was inconvenienced by my leave and had me traded out for a different consultant. Following that, my consultancy's HR Manager and Director told me that they were taking disciplinary action with the intent to terminate me, based on poor performance for not doing work while I was sick. I told them about my tumor. They agreed to let me take an additional weeks of 2 of annual leave unpaid.

Upon my return in January, they proceeded with the disciplinary action with the intent to terminate. They now also included "poor performance" examples I had never heard of from my previous 2 clients, specifically that my "personality was too bubbly" at client #1, and that "my failure to navigate a difficult situation following a public disagreement with a client" at client #2. The "public disagreement" was an instance of bullying and harassment that I had told my consultancy about and they discouraged me filing a formal complaint because it would affect their commercial relationship.