VIC The lawyer who prepared my parents Will is a sibling, Is this a conflict of interest as they are also a beneficiary of the Will?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
4 July 2023
The lawyer who prepared my parents Will & POS is my sibling. Is this a conflict of interest as they are also a beneficiary of the Will?

My sibling & I do not get along and I have concerns on what could happen after my parents have passed away that the situation will get messy.

I am to be nominated as POA & Executor along with my sibling.

Is this a conflict of interest that my sibling prepared the will?

Who are appropriate witnesses for the Will in this situation?

Do all Wills get registered?

Where should the will be kept?

Any advice on what to check for or question in this situation.

Thanks.

skaticeolive

24 June 2023
I am not a legal professional, a lawyer who is named as a beneficiary in a will may create a conflict of interest. This is because their personal interest as a beneficiary could potentially influence their actions as the lawyer responsible for preparing and executing the will. To ensure that the process is fair and impartial, it is generally recommended to have an independent lawyer involved in drafting and overseeing the execution of the will.

Nighthelyn

24 September 2014
Sydney
Dear GeorgeMarshall,

I have to disagree with skaticeolive’s position (although in truth the more accurate answer is we don’t know - I didn’t find any clear legal precedent with your situation).