Prioritising law degree vs. work

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

gie

24 June 2019
Hi everyone! Brand new member here hoping to get some advice.
So I'm in my first year of undergrad law, having transferred after doing Arts for a year. I also recently became possibly the luckiest law student in the world and got a job working with the in-house legal team of a pretty big company (I swear I'm not just bragging, this is going somewhere!!). My main job is just scanning stuff, but I also help out the paralegal with a lot of her work and the general counsel has talked about eventually training me up to be able to work as a paralegal.
I'm so aware that this is an absolutely amazing opportunity I've been given, but I am wondering if anyone had advice on how I should prioritise now. Everyone always says that experience matters far more than grades, but how much? Should I try and work more to get as much experience possible and be the best employee I can be at this place at the expense of my grades, or should I still try to do better than just passing if it means not performing the best I can at work? Which would be more helpful for me in the long run? (If it changes things, I don't have much actual interest in business and construction law, which is all I'm doing at work).
Thank you so much in advance for any help!

Rob Legat - SBPL

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
16 February 2017
Gold Coast, Queensland
lawtap.com
I studied externally while working full time as an articled law clerk. The practical experience you pick up is invaluable. Once you graduate, you miss a lot of the little jobs and connections that a fundamentally important.

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
1. Go you.

2. My first advice would be this - stop using Americanisms.
For example - to your university, you are an undergraduate, not an "undergrad".