Homework Question - B Grade Average in Law School?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Sapphire

11 February 2015
Victoria, Australia
I just cannot seem to crack an A for any of my core law subjects! I have received a B for every single core subject so far, with only a few A grades in my Arts subjects (which is my second degree). I try my absolute best but I never seem to get there! I'm in my third year right now and I have one exam and one assignment coming up for my two core subjects this semester. I'd love to get an A for at least one! How can I improve my grades?

Sapphire

11 February 2015
Victoria, Australia
By the way, at this point I'm pretty sure that I don't want to work in a huge top-tier law firm when I graduate. I don't really want anything to do with commercial law. I want to either work in the criminal law or family law field. Or, mediation/arbitration.

S

Sophea

Dear Sapphire,

No, you are not doomed. Law is an incredibly competitive business and sometimes as a law student you can feel as if you are never going to get anywhere, but don't despair.

(1) Keep working on your grades, but work smarter not harder. Talk to your lecturers and tutors about what you can do to improve your grades. Generally the difference between a B and an A if you are really trying your best, is attention to detail, and giving your lecturers exactly what they want to see without any unnecessary detail. Many students excel simply because they are good at writing essays or exams. So work on your essay and exam technique. The biggest downfall is not answering the question properly or addressing the issues that they want you to. Spend a lot of time dwelling on the question you are being asked, and again talk to your lecturers about why you didn't get an A in previous essays.