NSW Made a mistake and now I have to go to court

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Littlechef

25 August 2019
Hi,

I veryyyyyy supidly took some items from myer yesterday. It is very out of character for me and I am beyond embarrassed, even when the security guards stopped me I peed my pants literally which just added to the embarrassment. I now have a court date and I am petrified.

I know this doesn’t make it right however I have been going through some mental health issues and have had a lot of major stress in my life, the week of my offense I was at my breaking point.

I have never done anything like this before, I have never even been in trouble with the law previously, I am now just sooooo scared that I will get a criminal record. What do you think my chances would be of getting a section 10?

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
Without comprehensive medical evidence to support your claim?
No more than 50%.

The very fact that you know to ask about a section 10 suggests
that you already know something (even if not much)
about how things work.
Either than or you've already asked somebody else for advice or help,
and they have suggested it.

Understand this - a section 10 involves a finding of guilt against you.
A section 10 is middling common for a first offender, making an appropriate early guilty plea.
But it's not automatic, even for a cleanskin.

Get yourself to a psychiatrist (not a psychologist) and get a detailed report prepared for court.
Understand the this will cost you money, and you may not get it on Medicare.
And take yourself to a Community Legal Centre for some case specific advice.

Littlechef

25 August 2019
Without comprehensive medical evidence to support your claim?
No more than 50%.

The very fact that you know to ask about a section 10 suggests
that you already know something (even if not much)