WA Long Service Leave - Review Last 12 Years of Payslips?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Suzie

1 June 2015
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to help me. I have been working for 12 years for my current employer (medical receptionist) and resigned 2.5 weeks ago (due to unreasonable working conditions with pay, the way he treats me, etc). He has acknowledged this and confirmed he will pay me any outstanding annual leave and Long Service Leave.

When I started working there, I worked 1 day a week and have gradually increased my days/hours to 5 days a week now. I am paid hourly and the hours differ from week to week by 1-8 hours. I am due long service leave which is pro-rata, but he has never given me a payslip (except since I resigned - which is odd and frustrating!) so I have no record of the hours I worked. I have Group Certificates but cannot remember the rate of pay I was on so can't work it out. I have asked him many times for payslips (or a simple one line with a breakdown/nothing fancy),

I asked him many times for my Group Certificate last year which he eventually gave me 1 week before the end Oct deadline, I have asked him many times for my annual leave balance which he gave me in April when I asked in Feb! And he never pays on time - sometimes a week late! My Group Certificate is always less than the amount I claimed - but I have never known whether he pays right as he never gives payslips! I have approached him about being underpaid and he has never got back to me.

For these reasons, I need to work out what I am due in Long Service Leave. Can I ask him to provide me with the last 12 years' payslips?

I have spoken with Fair Work Australia, ATO and Long Service Leave department but haven't really got any advice.

Once again, thanks for any help; I REALLY appreciate it.

Ivy

10 February 2015
Hi Suzie,