QLD Ex Uses Drugs - What Happens if There's a Search Warrant?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Ali sang

19 May 2016
Hi,

This is my first time posting and I'm hoping personal and professional experiences of others might be able to help me with my concerns. Shall get on with it shall I?

My ex-partner is a methamphetamine user but has only become a user in recent months since our separation. We still reside in the same house together as we have a young child together and I have 2 more children from separate relationships. I'm completely clean and sober myself and have never been a user of any illegal substances and have been very careful and protective over any possible exposure of such things towards my children.

I have had many arguments about him removing it from the family home and environment if he refuses to quit it completely to no avail. I have attempted to have him removed from the house himself until he is sober as it poses too many risks to the kids. He is not aggressive or negative to the kids ever but I'm the one who cops the come-downs along with the financial burdens so he can maintain his habits.

I myself cannot take the kids and move away from him due to issues involving my other children and finances. I have become intensely concerned lately as I've noticed our neighbours becoming suspicious due to his constant activity (seeing as he doesn't sleep for up to 5 days sometimes) and coming and goings at all hours of night and mornings and since then I've also noticed an increased number of slow police patrols past our house in the last 2 months though we haven't been approached. Neither of us have any criminal record.