Can Exclusion from University be Reviewed in Court?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Hamed Khatiz

14 April 2015
I am studying and due to the bad results of seasons gone by, I was told at the beginning of the Autumn season, that if I fail again, I will be suspended from my University for twelve months. Luckily for me, I passed everything. Or so I thought:

-50. (Pass).
-56. (Pass).
-55. (Absent Fail)

Within minutes of the decision, I emailed my Unit Coordinator and asked for a review. I raised three points.

1) The requirements for attendance sounded more like recommendations when read in the learning guide. It said: Attendance may be taken into account if your performance needs to be scrutinised. Students attending less than 10 tutorials may find themselves at risk of not passing this unit. Previous experience indicates that students who performed very well in this unit had a strong understanding of concepts. Lectures and tutorials provide a foundation for understanding concepts.

My understanding from reading that is, if someone is on the borderline of passing and failing and the Committee must consider their grade, then they will take it into consideration. However, at 55, I am convincingly over the line, and considering I had achieved marks throughout the season consistently in the Credit-Distinction range, I have demonstrated a strong understanding of the concepts regardless of whether or not my attendance was where it needed to be. Therefore, my marks need not be scrutinised.