VIC Severe Emotional Distress Caused by Staff at University - Claim Compensation?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

lessie

11 April 2016
Hello,

I am a student at a private university and I've been treated unfairly by the staff. I've disclosed my disability to the staff and am on a support plan.

Sometime in 2014, I spoke to a counsellor about some teachers who I got along with and seemed to be interested in me who started acting weirdly. I asked if they could return their behaviour to normal. I was then told I was imagining things and then was accused of threatening teachers and making them uncomfortable, and was threatened I would be excluded from the school if I contacted the teachers. I became paranoid, my disability exacerbated and I had to quit the course because of this.

Then I returned in 2015 and I was given rules by means of a support plan, which stated that I can only contact very specific teachers, banned from certain places and am not allowed to contact the teachers who I felt were interested in me. I saw a counsellor and was continuously told how I cannot have "social conversations" with staff members. I also lost the person who I felt safe with because of their arguments. This triggered my disability to exacerbate again and I was suspended for a comment containing the word suicide.

I then asked my psychologist to provide documents to the college and got the suspension lifted, but I was not able to enrol for study because of the misleading information that was given. Then the staff attempted to remove me from the campus whenever I attempted to visit for admin/club activities.