NSW School Holidays

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Bob1967

23 September 2020
HI in terms of court orders that state each parent has half the school holidays and there is a pupil free day on the friday. When do the school holidays start?

sammy01

27 September 2015
Bob - I'm guessing you're the bloke? the non primary carer? the holidays start and finish when mum says so. That is why my second set of court orders clearly states according to the NSW gazetted school holidays as published on the nsw Dept of education website.

I'm a teacher. My ex used to love changing the rules. If i had the kids in the second half of holidays then the student free duay was mine - so a day I was meant to be at work and look after kids. If it was my turn to have the first half of the holidays, then the holidays started on the Monday after school breaks up. Not the Friday. Every fcuking time just to screw me out of a day here or there...

BUT - public schools dont have student free days for this set of holidays? if that is what you're referring to?

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
They start on the published date, which you can find here.
So, 25/9 is the "last day of school".
That 25/9 is a pupil free day doesn't make it a holiday day.

Bob1967

23 September 2020
Mum has sole PR, but my daughter goes to a catholic school. The last day of school is Thursday. The Friday is a pupil free day. I have half the school holidays and this year I have the first week. I have organised her birthday party on the weekend but my ex is insisting that the school holidays start on Monday as she wants to work off the public school system as it works to her advantage. Nowhere in the orders does it state that we are to follow the public school system. Is she right?

sammy01

27 September 2015
If the orders are not clear then you're stuffed.