QLD Received Notice for Obstructing Police - Do I Need a Solicitor?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

blueink

26 January 2016
Hey, I have never been in trouble with the law before or seen the inside of a courthouse. Before I begin I'll give a quick rundown of who I am.

I graduated last year from uni with a bachelor's of mechanical engineering. This led me to get a position with a large company in Toowoomba which I started this week. I am getting married in April and just bought a house last week for the move to Toowoomba.

I went out with a few mates to a hotel on Saturday night for dinner and drinks. We were fairly intoxicated as it was my going away dinner/night out. At 2:30am, my mate began to dance with a cleaner who was cleaning up a mess on the dance floor. This led to security kicking us both out. we were met outside by a team (6) of police.

A couple of them grabbed my mate and arrested him. I was very confused and began to ask them why they were doing this. This led to me being arrested and was given a notice to appear before the court for "obstructing police". Is this something I need a solicitor for?

I feel like the police were on a massive power trip and the correct thing to do would have been to just let us walk home. I felt their actions were completely unnecessary and if anything, they should have given us a notice for public nuisance (being intoxicated). The other thing is the court appearance is in Caboolture, however, i have now moved to Toowoomba for the new job.

What are my best options under Criminal Law?

P.S. The officer also put the wrong postcode on the court notice. I don't know if this is something that can void the court notice as it has the wrong information on it?

Thank you for your help

sammy01

27 September 2015