Australia's #1 for Law

Join 11,000+ Australians. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!

Dismiss Notice
Hi Guest, Want peace of mind with personalised legal advice today? Visit LawTap to find the right Australian lawyer and book online instantly.

QLD Received Notice for Obstructing Police - Do I Need a Solicitor?

Discussion in 'Criminal Law Forum' started by blueink, 26 January 2016.

1. blueink

blueink Member

Hey, I have never been in trouble with the law before or seen the inside of a courthouse. Before I begin I'll give a quick rundown of who I am.

I graduated last year from uni with a bachelor's of mechanical engineering. This led me to get a position with a large company in Toowoomba which I started this week. I am getting married in April and just bought a house last week for the move to Toowoomba.

I went out with a few mates to a hotel on Saturday night for dinner and drinks. We were fairly intoxicated as it was my going away dinner/night out. At 2:30am, my mate began to dance with a cleaner who was cleaning up a mess on the dance floor. This led to security kicking us both out. we were met outside by a team (6) of police.

A couple of them grabbed my mate and arrested him. I was very confused and began to ask them why they were doing this. This led to me being arrested and was given a notice to appear before the court for "obstructing police". Is this something I need a solicitor for?

I feel like the police were on a massive power trip and the correct thing to do would have been to just let us walk home. I felt their actions were completely unnecessary and if anything, they should have given us a notice for public nuisance (being intoxicated). The other thing is the court appearance is in Caboolture, however, i have now moved to Toowoomba for the new job.

What are my best options under Criminal Law?