QLD Property Law - Land Seller Refusing Contract Extension?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Shafaqat Ali

31 August 2017
Good Afternoon

I am renting a house in Queensland, by profession I am a Software Engineer.

I have been renting different houses for last 5 years and last year planned to own a house. I started looking for existing houses but finally made up my mind for a new house construction.

Spent months visiting display homes and then decided how much I can spend. Also started looking for land blocks. I found a block of land advertised on a real estate web site and contacted the seller in February this year and he replied that land registration is subject to council approval and it is possible it will happen end of the this year and around same time civil work will commence.

In April/June a property group based in Brisbane contacted me and they said they can help me in this process with a fee which I paid them upfront.

One of their consultant started to contact the land seller and we were able to sign a contract on 8th of June with the help of a Solicitor. According to contract, I had to pay a holding deposit of $1000 (refundable) and we get time of 2 months from the date of contract to arrange the finance. We started talking to Brokers to get the deals and after one month we were able to get the conditional pre approval.

Suddenly after a month, the property group told me that I have to finalize the build as well before the contract ending date, so we can do both land and build together and it is easy and cost effective as well. I told them that it would be difficult to finalize the build just in a month but still we started talking to the builder.