VIC Issued Multiple Fines on the Spot - Legal Under Traffic Law?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Danip9

3 November 2016
I was recently issued with two on-the spot fines for turning into a road which had a 'No left' turn sign and 'No Entry' sign. Is this possible under Traffic Law?

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Yep. But if you go to court chances are good either police will drop one of the charges, or the magistrate will tell them to drop one and convict you on the other, assuming you did turn left when you were not supposed to.

There's some protection under the double jeopardy rule which is what I think you are alluding to, but sometimes the same act can have multiple legitimate charges. In your case I think you have some protection using the double jeopardy rule but don't hold me to it, I'm not an expert on this rule!

You have to decide if 2 or 3 trips to court are worth the possible saving of one fine and some points.

Rod

Lawyer
27 May 2014
BTW you may be able to request a review, suggesting only offence was committed and see if they will withdraw one fine without going to court.

Iamthelaw

13 September 2016
Double jeopardy doesn't apply here at all. In answer to your question - Yes it is possible that you can receive an infringement for both the no left turn sign and the no entry sign.

Tim W

Lawyer
28 April 2014
Sydney
There's some protection under the double jeopardy rule....
Nah, that's not how double jeopardy works.
It's not in play here.

Rod

Lawyer
27 May 2014
Interested in knowing why you say this. I was thinking Pearce v The Queen [1998] HCA 57 at [34] would apply in this situation. Happy to stand corrected :)

Tim W

Lawyer
28 April 2014
Sydney
Double jeopardy operates to preclude a second trial for an offence
that has already been dealt with and finalised (post iudicium).