NSW Custody of Children - Mother Looked After Kids When I was Sick Now Won't Return

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

jacinta warhurst

19 March 2015
My mother was temporary looking after my kids while I was in hospital. Now I'm out, I want them back, but she won't let me she won't even let me go to her place to see them and she even rung Centrelink and pretended to be me to get my family payment. She has no consent orders or anything so do I have the right to get them from school and keep them?

Sarah J

16 July 2014
Melbourne, Victoria
Hi Jacinta,

I am not an expert in family law. However, if your mother (is she the child's grandmother?) refuses to return your children, you can apply to the Family Court for a recovery order. This is an application for a court order to have the children returned to to their parents or primary carer.

In considering your application, the court will ask what is in the best interests of the children? While it is desirable for the children to have a close relationship with their grandparents (under the Family Law Act), the court recognises (and presumes) that the primary interest is having close relations with the parents.

Other matters the court considers:

"
The Court will primarily look at:

• the benefit to the child of having a meaningful relationship with both parents
  • the need to protect the child from harm
The Court will also look at:

• the views of the child (the importance given to the child’s views will depend on their age, maturity and level of understanding)
  • the child’s relationship with parents and others, including grandparents and other relatives
  • each parent’s willingness and ability to facilitate and encourage a close and continuing relationship between the child and the other parent
  • the effect of any change to the current situation on the child